



February 12, 2024

Via Email: john.lahood@house.ga.gov

The Honorable John LaHood 175th District Chairman, Governmental Affairs Georgia House of Representatives 131-A State Capitol Atlanta, GA 30334

Dear Chairman Hood,

The SPLC Action Fund strongly supports <u>House Bill 794</u>—a bill to repeal the requirement that Stone Mountain honor the Confederacy. The Confederate memorial at Stone Mountain is a shrine to slavery and those who fought to maintain it.

Before and during the Civil War, Confederate leaders stated explicitly and constantly that they fought for slavery and white supremacy. After the war, they attempted to erase the history of slavery and the struggle for liberation. The United Daughters of the Confederacy led an organized propaganda campaign to glorify the Confederate cause and maintain white supremacy. One of their projects was Stone Mountain.

The Confederate memorial in the park celebrates those who fought against the United States over those who fought for freedom. Georgia taxpayers are required to fund this memorial to men who declared war against the United Sates. House Bill 794 would repeal a law from 1958 that requires Stone Mountain to honor these traitors and allow Stone Mountain to become a park for outdoor recreation that all Georgians can be proud of.

Stone Mountain has long been a symbol of hate and a gathering space for white supremacists, since the second Ku Klux Klan formed there in 1915. The SPLC Action Fund supports HB 794 to reclaim Stone Mountain as an inclusive public space for all people.

We call on Chairman LaHood to hold a hearing on HB 794 at the next regularly scheduled meeting of the House Governmental Affairs Committee.

Best Regards

Isabel Otero

Salul Otero



The Honorable John LaHood February 12, 2024 Page 2

cc:

Victor Anderson, 10th District, Vice Chairman, victor.anderson@house.ga.gov; (404) 656-0325 Darlene Taylor, 173rd District, Secretary, darlene.taylor@house.ga.gov; (229) 225-9943 Teri Anulewicz, 42nd District, Member, teri.anulewicz@house.ga.gov; (404) 656-0116 Debra Bazemore, 69th District, Member, debra.bazemore@house.ga.gov; (404) 656-0202 Shaw Blackmon, 146th District, Member, shaw.blackmon@house.ga.gov; (404) 656-5103 Rhonda Burnough, 77th District, Member, rhonda.burnough@house.ga.gov; (404) 656-0116 J Collins, 71st District, Member, j.collins@house.ga.gov; (404) 656-5132 Barry Fleming, 125th District, Member, barry.fleming@house.ga.gov; (404) 656-0254 Houston Gaines, 120th District, Member, houston.gaines@house.ga.gov; (404) 656-5025 Joseph Gullett, 19th District, Member, joseph.gullett@house.ga.gov; (404) 656-0178 Rob Leverett, 123rd District, Member, rob.leverett@house.ga.gov; (404) 656-0213 Eddie Lumsden, 12th District, Member, eddie.lumsden@house.ga.gov; (404) 656-7850 Mesha Mainor, 56th District, Member, mesha.mainor@house.ga.gov; (404) 656-0254 Phil Olaleye, 59th District, Member, phil.olaleye@house.ga.gov; (404) 656-0220 Mary Margaret Oliver, 82nd District, Member, mary.oliver@house.ga.gov; (404) 656-0265 Alan Powell, 33rd District, Member, alan.powell@house.ga.gov; (404) 463-3793 Shea Roberts, 52nd District, Member, shea.roberts@house.ga.gov; (404) 656-0298 Steven Sainz, 180th District, Member, steven.sainz@house.ga.gov; (404) 657-1803 Brad Thomas, 21st District, Member, brad.thomas@house.ga.gov; (404) 656-0152 Mary Frances Williams, 37th District, Member, maryfrances.williams@house.ga.gov; (404) 656-0287